>How many sins are there

Posted: February 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

>A young man stopped me in the mall recently and asked if certain behaviors were sins.  We talked briefly about those behaviors and I told him that sin was anything that goes against the nature of God.  For example, since God is pure, vile and dirty language would be sin because it goes against God’s purity.  He asked if there was a list of sins. I told him the Bible lists a lot of sins.  He asked for a list!  I googled and found someone had compiled a list of 667 sins from the Bible. I printed this nine page 8-font document for him.  His reaction was interesting in that it pleased him to have such a list.  I asked why he was so concerned and he stated that he wanted to “get right” with God and quit sinning.  I encouraged him by stating “you will fail.”  But, of course, I followed up with the good news.  You don’t have to take a list of 667 rules with you to try to keep them all and please God. He knows you’ll fail. That’s why He sent Jesus to die on the cross and rise again three days later. So that Jesus would pay the penalty for your sin and you can be declared ‘just as if” you’ve kept them all.  I’m not sure that totally settled with him, but we’ll follow up later.

Leave a Reply

