Headfirst in the Garbage

Posted: April 27, 2012 in Discipleship
Tags: , , ,

Headfirst in the Garbage

Yesterday I fell into a garbage can. I was pushing a giant, 96 gallon plastic container on wheels. It’s called a “toter.” I didn’t realize there was a wrong way to move one of these and I was doing it wrong. The connected lid was flipped back and hanging to about 6 inches from the ground. This made it difficult to take a full step and caused me to lean on the handle, while walking slightly off balanced. I stepped on the lid which stopped the toter, but not my forward, off-balanced momentum, which caused me to go straight down. And since I was falling in a little forward motion, I went HEADFIRST in to the GARBAGE CAN.

There I lay, in the street, face first in a trash can, which gave me a little time to think. It wasn’t that bad; I could relax and I was getting some welcomed time off from work. Then the smell became evident. Then I realized, “I’m in a garbage can, I’m not trash, I don’t belong here.” So I backed out of it and went on my way, acting like nothing weird just happened. A habitual lifestyle of sin is a like a garbage can.

The trash of this world fills it and we sometimes jump or fall head first into it. I used to live in it.

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life,

 
to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. Ephesians 4:22-24

 

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! 2 Corinthians 5:17

When I became a follower of Christ, He changed me to where I just didn’t like living in the garbage can any longer. He delivered me and gave me freedom from all it’s bondage and stink. But sometimes we fall back inside. At first it might not seem so bad, but pretty soon we realize that this is not where I belong. That’s my old life. My new life is free from this can and smells a lot better. When you discover that you are headfirst into sin, back up, repent and get out of it. You don’t belong there, you are a child of God.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  – John 1:9

Leave a Reply

